NaNoWriMo Done for another year – Taking a step back and thinking on my effort.

crest_square-1902dc8c2829c4d58f4cd667a59f9259Now that National Novel Writing Month 2014 has finished, I wanted to take a step back and think of how I felt over the last 30 days and the effort I put into the project.  The target for NaNoWriMo was to write a 50k word novel in 30 days and while I didn’t reach this goal (I got to 25k), I do feel a strong sense of pride that I tried.

It wasn’t easy (few things that are worthwhile are) and at times I failed to write more than a few lines, but the days when the words flowed were joyous, and so step by step I moved forward. Could I have done more, yes, am I still happy with what I have done, yes.

Dwelling on the negative aspects of the experience is easy, that feeling of frustration as I tried to draw blood from the literary stone, or the feeling of dragging my mind through the bog of confusion as I tried to take what was so clear in my mind and put it on the page.

Now that this particular challenged is finished, it is not hard to keep reminding myself about the positive things I achieved. Things like the fact I started in the first place, that I am trying and that no matter the small steps I take, that with each one I proved to myself (because that’s who matters) I could do this.

Sure, I didn’t finish, but just because the month is done, it doesn’t mean my novel is shelved.  I know I will keep going, word by word, line by line and page by page until it’s done, not because it’s a competition, but because it’s about me and about my need and desire to write.

To everyone who is writing whether it was part of NaNoWriMo or not, I offer you a mental high five.Bulldogs-High-Fiving-5

Leave a Reply

