Writing 101, Day Twelve: (Virtual) Dark Clouds on the Horizon

Write a post inspired by a real-world conversation.writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2
Include an element of foreshadowing in the beginning of your post.

I could not for the life of me think of a real world conversation I wanted to write about, maybe I need more coffee. I could have written about which condiment my wife wanted on her toast this morning or the 30 second conversation I had with the mail man today, but they all seemed so dull. What did pop into my mind was a joke I read recently which was shaped around a conversation. So I decided to use this as a base and pad it out.

My version first, then followed by the original joke. I hoped to drop, somewhat subliminally the main components of the next paragraph in the preceding and the main punch line.

You decide if this could be considered foreshadowing?

A Wife For My Son.

My Retelling

A father stands in front of his son, reaching out, he places his left hand on his shoulder, “Son, I want to give you every chance in life I did not have, so I want you to marry a girl of my choosing.

The son looks at his father, surprised and shocked with what he is saying, he shrugs his father’s hand from his shoulder, “No,” he says.

Not surprised with his son’s initial response, he knows that gates will open if only he can convince him. He looks his son in the eye, “What if I were to tell you the girl I want you to marry is the daughter of one of the richest business men in the world.”

Shocked, but suddenly seeing a life of wealth, riches and power ahead of him the son says, “OK then.”

The next day the father goes to his first meeting, he’s scheduled to meet with Bill Gates. He sits in front of the man who can insure his own son’s future; a man is who knows good business. Steeling his nerve, he says to Bill, “I want your daughter to marry my son, he is a smart, intelligent business man who the world can bank on.”

Bill leans back in his chair, resting his elbows on the armrests, “No”.

Expecting this reaction, the father moves forward on his seat, preaching on its edge like he is about to jump up, placing his hands on the table top, he says to, “ What if I were to tell you, my son is the CEO of the world bank.”

Now genuinely interested, Bill can see the infinite business possibilities that would open up for him and his company if he had the World Bank CEO as a son-in-law. He stands, reaches his hand across the desk, gripping the fathers own and says, “OK then.”

That afternoon, the father goes to his next meeting with the President of the World Bank. He yet again sits across from a man of great business prowess and financial knowledge. The CEO is preoccupied and doesn’t initially respond to the father when he begins speaking, raising this voice to get the CEO’s attention, “Appoint my son the CEO of the World Bank,” he says.

The president is pulled back from his work and quite surprised with the father’s tone and demand. He considers many ways to say no, but decides on the direct response, “No,” he says.

The father is now well prepared at tackling these initial objections. He smiles at the President and says, “What if I were to tell you my son is the son-in-law of Bill Gates.”

The President looks out of his office window. He can see the business possibilities of having a link to Bill Gates, and this mans son must be a man of substance and intelligence if Bill Gates allowed his daughter to marry him. Turning back to the father, he says, “OK then.”

This is business.

Original Joke

Dad: son i want u 2 marry a girl of my choice.
Son: NO!
Dad: the girl is bill gates daughter
Son: then OK
Dad goes to bill gates
Dad: i want your daughter 2 marry my son
Bill gates: No
Dad:My son is the CEO of the world bank
Bill gates: then OK
Dad goes to the president of the world bank
Dad: Appoint my son the CEO of the world bank
President: No
Dad: he is the son-in-law of Bill gates
President: then OK
THIS IS BUSINESS

One thought on “Writing 101, Day Twelve: (Virtual) Dark Clouds on the Horizon

Leave a Reply

