Writing 101, Day Ten: Happy (Insert Special Occasion Here)!

Tell us about your favourite childhood meal — the one that was always a treat, that meant “celebration,” or that comforted you and has deep roots in your memory. writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2

It tastes so right, so how can it be so wrong!

Growing up in Ireland we had a chip/crisp company named Tayto and they made a king amount kings flavour called Cheese and Onion.

Tayto

Now this is not your run of the mill cheese and onion flavour crisp, no sir! Tayto Cheese and Onion have a taste that was so strong and wonderful that one packet meant you are guaranteed to never be kissed or have a long conversation with anyone until at least three successive teeth brushings.

I have such happy memories of getting my pocket money, running down to the local shop and buying a packet of cheesy goodness.  I had to force myself not to open them and devour them there and then, and being a wee little-in that some strong resolve.  Hold on I need a tissue, I am actually salivating right now thinking about Tayto. Lucky, I have my carrot sticks to sate this hunger, yum……. in case it wasn’t evident

SarcasmSo I get home, get the white bread out and cover it with butter.  Next, you then get your beloved Tayto Cheese and Onion and crush the crisps up inside the packet. Once turned into a wonderful fairy dust you joyously pile them in the centre of one of your slices of bread.   Wait for it we are not done yet, in the back ground the kettle has been going and has just finished boiling, that means its cup of tea time (I’m Irish we drink tea from the teat!).  Tea ready, Tayto sandwich ready, its devouring time! Less than a minute later the sandwich is done and you sit back content.  No tea yet, you don’t want to loss that cheese & onion taste.

For those in the know, you know, for those not in the know, I’m afraid your not going to know, and for that loss I’m truly sorry.

To the purist’s reading this, yes they have to be Northern Ireland Tayto Cheese and Onion, none of the southern stuff and no it can’t be made on anything outer than white bread.  For those who had brothers and sisters, know you didn’t share, the TATYO IS MINE, ONLY MINE!

There is nothing better than food memory and I know what I’m doing tomorrow.  Hunting for some Tayto cheese and Onion, and may I suggest you do the same, you’ll thank me for it.

Leave a Reply

