Writing 101, Day Eight: Death to Adverbs

Go to a local café, park, or public place and report on what you see. Get detailed: leave no nuance behind.writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2
Write an adverb-free post. If you’d rather not write a new post, revisit and edit a previous one: excise your adverbs and replace them with strong, precise verbs.

I found this one a little hard, once I knew I was trying to write something with adverbs and I struggled to place them. Still unsure.

My journey for coffee from the local Cafe.

Caffeine’s Slave a Poem

Adverbs

Coffee dark, rich, I am cowardly bewitched,
Swirling clouds my caffeine fix I must itch.

Bitter, sharp and deep, up of joy I go to meet,
miserably my mind creeps, sweet love I weep.

Craving that gnaws and bites,
I your slave, loyally and completely.

Wake, wake, sleep to leave,
Liquid love, you are my reprieve.

I dare not dally, swiftly I travel,
Without its taste I will assuredly unravel.

No Adverbs

Coffee dark and rich, lack of courage I am bewitched,
Swirling clouds white, gold and cream, my caffeine fix I must itch.

Bitter, sharp and deep, cup warm and sure, my joy I go to meet,
Pitiable state, sweet love I weep, this lust addictive I must greet.

Craving that gnaws and bites, this fear I can not fight,
I your slave, steadfast, loyal and complete.

Wake, wake, sleep to leave,
Liquid love, you are my reprieve.

I dare not dally, swift of foot I travel,
Without its taste I will without a doubt unravel.

One thought on “Writing 101, Day Eight: Death to Adverbs

Leave a Reply

