Writing 101, Day Four: The Serial Killer (Part 3)

Write about a loss: something (or someone) that was part of your life, and isn’t any more.writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2

The loss of my waist, a poem.

Parts 1 & 2 (Recap)

Once I was a young man, slight in waist,
Who walked everywhere at a cracking pace.

The years progressed and I did digest,
Pretty much everything like an unwelcome guest.

This isn’t right, my mucker said to me,
You be having far too many teas.

We run for the bus and I hear a breeze,
but it’s just you wheezing and quivering at the knees.

Age and cake have settled me,
Beer and wine have matured me.

Burgers and fries have condemned me,
The time has come and I must be done.

Can someone please hide the sticky buns,
For I shall eat them all and there will be none.

Where oh where is the yum for my tum,
Oh well and ho-hum, it has begun.

Part 3 (Final)

Oh waistline, the pains I must take to see you leave,
No cakes, no treats, no chocolate reprieve.

Why oh why do I dare to feast upon this suckling beast,
Such golden rivers of tasty grease.

We have had our day and my gut did pay,
So please don’t delay, I just can’t have you stay.

1 sit-up, 2 sit-up, 3 sit-up, sit-ups forever more,
At least I can finally fit through the door.

One thought on “Writing 101, Day Four: The Serial Killer (Part 3)

  1. Pingback: Writing 101, Day Thirteen: Serial Killer II | The Quiet Fantasy Book Blog

Leave a Reply

