Writing 101, Day Three: Commit to a Writing Practice

Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2

Today, try free writing. To begin, empty your mind onto the page. Don’t censor yourself; don’t think. Just let go. Let the emotions or memories connected to your three songs carry you.

My Fifteen Minutes

Pick three! That’s like asking which finger is your favourite, you need them all. Any song at any give time is the most important song in my life; each genre of music brings out a different emotion in me. Forcing me to pick three, it’s like in the TV series Red Dwarf when the ever vain Cat is told he can only bring two suits into cryo-stasis and responds with, if I cut off a leg can I bring three?

If three is the number, than three it is!

1. Barber, Adagio for Strings. I challenge anyone not to be calmed by the piece. Each an every time I listen to it I can feel myself unwinding and relaxing. It gives me an inner calm and I come out the other side with a clear mind and clarity of thought.

2. Oasis, Wonderwall. Nostalgia is a powerful drug and nothing does this more for me than this song. I am reminded of my teenage self and my friends of that age, simple cords and lyrics for simple minds. Standing on tables in clubs and parties, singing at the top of our lungs with not a care in the world.

3. Lynryd Skynyrd, Free bird (Live Version). I was a bit of a latecomer to the Skynyrd. I had heard Sweet Home Alabama so many times when I was younger, I was completely turned of them as a band. It wasn’t until I heard Free bird in a movie soundtrack I decided to give them another go. This song is pure energy; it gets my blood pumping, heart racing and head swinging. No matter how many times I listen to the outro I can’t help but smile.

4. If I only listen to the outro of Free bird can I have 4? Maroon 5, Moves like Jagger. This song played four or five times at my wedding, resulting in two people doing a “Worm” battle off (one failing miserably) and my sister and cousin having a battle royale dance off! You can’t ask for more than that for a good time, if only someone had been recording it!

Leave a Reply

