The Daily Post Writing 101, Day Two: A Room with a View (Or Just a View)

The Daily Post Writing 101, Day Two: A Room with a View (Or Just a View)writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2
We’re all drawn to certain places. If you had the power to get somewhere — anywhere — where would you go right now? For your twist, focus on building a setting description.

I may have taken a little creative liberty with this challenge.  Initially I found it hard to find the form I am trying to take, I knew it in my mind, but I had issues getting it on the page.  I have tried not to change my first work too much as I found it a good learning experience to see the altered focus as I progressed.

Your Study or Mine?

When I picture the place I wish to be transported to the first thing that comes to mind is, I wonder if I will need to get a plastic toupee for Han Solo? Surely after all the countless years of my bobbling his Bobblehead he will end up looking more like Captain Picard than Chewies arm candy.

Transport me to my study, not my study now, but my study in the future. In this time and place I am sitting at my desk, its a good desk; solid, strong and hard wearing. It’s not a modern desk its more traditional, dark stained wood with brass handled drawers and just the start of a little wear, where I rest my hands while I type, this is the desk I can keep until the end. Looking to my left piles of books stacked three high catchesmy eye. Continuing on my bookcase is double stuffed and already full, which always provides me with a private smile, what can I say books have a power over me.

Han Solo Bobblehead and Doctor Who figurines sit pride of place beneath my monitor; these are my totems and mascots. Is it wrong to talk to your Bobblehead, even if he agrees with everything you say? Finally, my T.A.R.D.I.S USB hub with its flashing blue light and EERrwWwoooooSHHHhEERrwWwoooooSHHHhEERrwWwoooooSHHHh, yes I know, geek!

Left and right I see the things that inspire me, the authors I love and the trapping of my fandom that bring such girlish glee.

Standing in my future study I want to see the varnish has finally worn off my desk where my hands have been resting as I typed over countless years (sure to annoy the wife) I know by now my EERrwWwoooooSHHHhEERrwWwoooooSHHHhEERrwWwoooooSHHHh will have packed it in, but I will be happy to just see that light flash.   Obvious while I’m there I should make sure it still works; maybe backup my future work onto USB, it’s not really stealing if I intend to write them, right?

Fingers crossed I will finally get myself a comfortable desk chair, not some reject for the Spanish Inquisition which I am currently sitting on. Hard backed wooden straps, saggy cushions, why do we do this to ourselves. Maybe I could leave a note for my future self to get rid of the old toolbox under the desk.

Well, I am here and everything is as I want it to be. Even before I look I am shaking my head in disbelief, I know that toolbox is still already. I can’t believe it’s still there; in all honesty, it has been my trusty footstool for many years. I am resting my hairy gorilla feet on it right now.

That spot has worn away nicely, very characterful (Yes it’s a real word, I checked). Oh thank God, I have gotten rid of the old book stand and put in full wall bookshelves, its looking good, it looks like there is even a few of my own in pride of place, imaginary Top Gun volley ball scene high five to future me.

Damn! Han is bald, screw it I’ll just start calling him Jean-Luc. That’s it I need to slap myself in the back of the head, I don’t care about the paradox, it’s one of those bouncy ball chairs and its lime green! What must I have been on when I thought this was a good idea?

That’s it I am coming back to the present.

Now and to come this room or one like it will be my shrine and sanctum, it holds my books and a hopefully as very large part of my time (all the books I will write) and while the room may change; new apartment, house or cardboard box (I never said I would be famous for my writing) it’s still the same room because it’s where I dream, create and make my inner thoughts come to life.   It doesn’t have to be a study, it just has to be any place that is your spot to be creative, to make your ideas come to life. If you don’t have one, find one; a corner of the living room with the big comfy armchair laptop balanced on your knees or the edge of your bed with nothing but a pen and paper, write, type, whatever makes you happy.

I don’t know if I am to be a successful author but I know I will still write, and in the end that’s what matters.

Leave a Reply

