Book Review – Dodger by Terry Pratchett

My review of Dodger by Terry Pratchett

http://www.fantasybookreview.co.uk/Terry-Pratchett/Dodger.html

Come one come all to greatest city in the world.

In London, all men are free, the streets are lined with gold and the naughty ladies are friendly to all.

In London there are geezers on ever street corner and every urchin and tosher is an angel with a dirty face. Home to Her Majesty, Fleet Street, the Square Mile and Dodger – known to all, Dodger is crafty, nimble and some what flexible object of lost and found. Its not really stealing if it could have fallen out of a pocket any way, It’s a service really. So, you saw nothing, you heard nothing and Dodger wasn’t even there.

Dodger rises from the gutter as the hero of London; rescuing damsels in distress and defeating the villains with a smile and a quick wit, but lets not forgot wit gets you only so far so brass knuckles and a crowbar do help.

I still remember my first Terry Pratchett novel. I picked it up by chance and I haven’t looked back since, thank god for specials at Waterstones.

It’s hard not to compare to Terry Pratchett’s non Discworld novels because I love them so much and in Dodger I feel like I am getting a Discworld novel in structure and flavour, but with a difference. There are some definite Discworld style characters, Onan, Dodger’s dog has been illustrated in a manner, and with such personality, I expected him to be able to speak or turn out to be a Wizard of the Unseen University on an expedition from the next universe over, except disguised as a dog.

Pratchett has beautifully narrated Dodger. The story has been written in such a way you can feel the cobblestones under your feet as Dodger works his way around London; thankfully you don’t have to feel some other things described. The quality of the writing takes me back to discovering Terry Pratchett for the first time.

Without giving too much away the sewer grate has definitely been left open for further book, and I say yes, more please. One of the few negatives I had of the book was I would have liked a little more back story on the main characters, but there is always room in the sequel. I am not sure if I would have liked it a little grittier but that would have just made it a different book with a different feel.

This is a little left field but I feel that story was been written in such a way that once Terry succumbs to his illness it could be continue on in its own fashion without trying to recreate Discworld, that uniqueness and wizardry belongs to Terry Pratchett. I can think of no greater tribute to Terry Pratchett if his works could be continued in a small way by others.

If you love Terry Pratchett novels you will love this, if you haven’t read any off Terry’s works before and want to start, you can’t go wrong here.

9.5/10

For even more reviews, author interviews and biographies, check out the site Fantasy Book Review.

Leave a Reply

